So I Was Told to Post on My Blog…

These were the instructions: “Write about something, anything, it just has to mean something to you”. That’s it. Nothing else.

This is my worst nightmare.

I like structure, instructions, rules and regulations. Guidelines and strict perameters so I know what I’m doing is right. I was given none of those. I was left alone, told to look inside my head, and pull something personal out of it to write about. This is impossible.

I am not good at this. The whole “talk about your feelings” or “how do you understand ——” type stuff. I don’t really know how to do it. Oh sure, I can write. I write poems and books (42,000 words into one at the moment) all the time, but personal stuff has never been something I could do. I’ve never kept a journal, though I tried. I desperately wanted to because all of the important characters in the books I read did. Their entries were thoughtful and very intraspective. Mine were a list of what happened that day in paragraph form. I always gave up after a few weeks. So this is a not going to be much of an entry, sorry PK!

In fact, I’m kind of out of ideas already. And yes, I am fully aware that I have written about nothing other than the futility of this assignment, but I can’t get past there. I don’t typically give up on stuff, I never have. Occasionally though, I hit a wall. These walls are tall and thick and impenetrable. So rather than choose the topic of this post you get to. I know I haven’t cleared this with you PK and if you don’t like my idea tell me and I’ll scrap this. However, here’s my proposition. If you have a question for me, something you’d like to know about me, post it in the comments. I’ll pick one or two of the questions and address them. I doubt this will work as I can’t imagine there will be questions but I’m at my wits end here. I hope this is all right because so far this has taken thirty minutes and it’s been pretty much a useless rant against lack of instruction. So, I leave my next post (which will be the real one that PK wants) in your hands. Ask away! PLEASE! Just ask me SOMETHING! ANYTHING! Well, within reason. Use discretion.

See you in the morning!

Mckenna

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. l3xi3p3trich
    Dec 10, 2014 @ 20:58:15

    I want to know what your favorite memory is? It can be any memory you have just as long as it is your favorite.

    Like

    Reply

  2. pk
    Dec 16, 2014 @ 02:02:23

    Mckenna, the beautiful thing about growing up is you get to make the rules, create the structure, and listen to your own head!! Embrace it!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

